Sorry I'm Late ... I Didn't Want To Come - 07 September, 2023
Neighbourhood Blues (and twos) - 18 August, 2023
Picnics and guns! - 21 July, 2023
Praise due - 14 June, 2023
Corona oo nana - 18 April, 2020

Diaryland

archivesleave me a noteprofileWho's who101 facts about me my diaryringsextras

14 June, 2023 - 6:06 p.m.

Three years since my last entry, yet still not much by way of news.

Firstly, I must apologise for my lack of layout/design. My old design used an old image site, to which I no longer have access. I may or may not get around to designing/choosing a new layout. One entry every 3 - 4 years hardly deems it necessary. However, since turning my back on FB, perhaps this will be my new outlet once again.

K, Monkey and I have just returned from a week in our favourite place in the world. A much needed holiday, I can tell you. It nearly didn't happen due to transport issues, but the wonderful Vanoonoo took us there and brought us home! The "friend" who took us for the past few years let us down, pretty last minute, and left us almost having to cancel our holiday and losing every penny. She didn't even find out until after the holiday that we'd even managed to go, yet still no genuine word of apology. Anyway, I'm not having a moan about her, I'm praising the amazing, beautiful Vanoonoo! I know some of you know her, being her buddies on here. We've been friends for more years than I care to remember, having met on here, texted, chatted, and even met (by one of those bizarre, flukey, cosmic accidents!) on one occasion. But when she heard we were going to lose out on our holiday, she didn't even take a breath before asking "When do you need me? Give me the dates!" My hero, right there!

Not only did we get a lift there and back, but it was such good fun having a road trip. The stories kept flowing and the laughs were a-plenty! My kids are now huge fans, too! Monkey still quotes some of her funny stories! K asks if she can see her again. We have "insert family surname here" family memes, (quotes and references that we constantly repeat and apply to relevant situations) and one of Vanoonoo's stories has joined the ranks, pretty high up!

I've just been thinking about my relationship with Diaryland. In the past few months, I have been in contact with a few DL members. Long-term friends who I originally made on DL: Vanoonoo, Randomrabbit, and Kitchenwitch.

After leaving notes for Randomrabbit, a decade ago, we met and he became, and remains, one of my bestesty, bestest, best friends! I love him more than he knows. I would literally cut off an arm for him! Not mine, obviously! The arm of someone I didn't like! Haha, no, seriously, I would cut off my own arm if it helped him. I genuinely adore him! He's got me through some tough times. Genuinely, without him, I'm not sure where I'd be right now.

Kitchenwitch has become a bit of a worldwide online celebrity, and I'm so grateful and proud to say we're still friends, having met on DL. I had a 2 and a half hour call with her a few weeks back. We used to chat a lot, 20 years ago. So it was so nice to catch up.

Vanoonoo, who I used to text and chat with back in perhaps 2003/2004, has remained a solid friend. Christmas cards every year, even when I didn't return the favour due to my refusal to send cards (I send a donation to charity instead! (Yeah, yeah, I know, I'm a sanctimonious, self-righteous prick! Haha!) She's one of those people who you can message and chat to as though no time has passed in between. She then stepped up and became our family's hero by giving us a lift to and from our holiday. We are now communicating regularly and she is taking us away again in November! V, you are a legend! Love you, girl.

I have made other friends from Diaryland. Max, Stef, Sarah (sorry I missed your birthday 2 weeks ago! As you know, it's the anniversary of losing my dad, but I always wish you happy birthday in my head!), Zoe, Holly, Ellen. And many more. I consider myself very lucky to count several wonderful diarists from DL as friends, still. I've met several in real life, spoken to more on the phone, and have lots on Facebook (despite no longer using it often, I still like to keep up to date with my old DL friends). I appreciate them all. I miss the early 2000s. I would much rather go back to Diaryland than FB! I miss it, and the community. I also miss having an outlet for my rants and my obviously amazingly clever wit! Haha! But with Monkey being nearly 15 (I know, shush!!!) and us being like best friends, he has become my sounding board. I do, however, like the idea of returning to DL. Who knows: watch this space!




Notes


rewind - restart - forward
Random entry

Design by me.