Sorry I'm Late ... I Didn't Want To Come - 07 September, 2023
Neighbourhood Blues (and twos) - 18 August, 2023
Picnics and guns! - 21 July, 2023
Praise due - 14 June, 2023
Corona oo nana - 18 April, 2020

Diaryland

archivesleave me a noteprofileWho's who101 facts about me my diaryringsextras

21 July, 2023 - 6:30 p.m.

Yesterday was an exciting day! I hosted a picnic/ gathering for home educated families at our local park. It was a lovely day and everyone had fun. Ok, NOT that exciting!

However....

Yesterday evening, around 8pm, there were 2 motorbikes zooming up our road, round the back, down a couple more roads, and back up our road! The first couple of times I just grumbled at the noise. The 3rd or 4th time, I started swearing. The 5th time I ran outside to ... I don't know...maybe wave my fist to show I was cross!

Then there were almost 10 minutes before I heard them ride down the road leading to ours! Anticipating their arrival, I ran out, only to spot them a little way down our road, parked up on the corner between the adjoining roads. I decided to play Mrs Big Bollocks! (Karen, to her friends!) I walked towards them, pretending to be talking on my phone, pointing at them and gesturing up and down the road, as if reporting their dastardly antics to the police. One of the lads, still with his crash helmet on began walking towards me. His mate said something, so Mr Crash Helmet returned to him, took off his helmet and proceeded to walk back up to me. He asked if everything was OK. I said "Not really, no. You've been going up and down, up and down, and a few of us are actually getting a bit pissed off!" (For 'a few of us' read 'my daughter, my dog, and me!')
He was really polite and friendly, and explained that his friend's motorbike had been stolen and that someone had seen it, recently, in this area. So they were riding in a loop to see if they could find it. By the end of his explanation, one of the other lads had joined us. They were both really friendly and apologetic. Upon hearing the explanation, I immediately apologised and said I'd defend them to anyone who complained and they were welcome to continue riding up and down until they found the missing bike! I also confessed that I hadn't been reporting them to the police on the phone! Which they found hysterical, fortunately! They actually thanked me for being honest and said they respected me! Not just for being honest and owning up, but also for having the balls to pretend that's what I was doing in the first place!

Then the third lad (the one who's bike had been stolen) joined us, and I immediately apologised and said I was sorry about his bike. He said he had been worried his friend would scare me approaching me with his crash helmet on! He was the one who had called him back and told him to remove it before approaching me! (This lad is only in his early 20s, and yet that was his immediate thought! Gives you hope, doesn't it!!) Anyway, I thanked him for being so thoughtful, but then followed it up by telling him I have a weird kink about crash helmets and find them very sexy! (Haha, yeah alright, I'm a weirdo!! Don't pretend this is news!!) So the other guy immediately starts walking back to his bike, without a word. His mate quietly asked, "Where you going?"
"To put my helmet back on!!!!!" he replied, with an eyebrow raise and slight inclining of his head to me!!
Haha, I'm sure he just felt sorry for the old woman and that flirting would keep her on side! But, whatever, it made me a very happy lady! (Although, sadly, he didn't actually go through with it!)

Anyway, they went on to explain they were waiting for the police. I assumed it was because they'd spotted the bike and reported it, but no! They had stopped at some local flats to have a look about the car park, and a man had threatened them with a golf club! They'd backed away trying to reason with him, when his mate came down and pointed a gun at them! Whether it was real or not, loaded or not, they didn't know. It was in a semi-translucent blue plastic carrier bag, just like the ones our local shop provides. It was enough to scare the bejeezus out of them! So they rode off and called the police. We decided the best thing was for me to wait with them. 3 young lads on motorbikes are never going to be treated as wholly innocent by our police! Sadly!

When the armed police turned up, there were 2 of them! One male, one female. I know they can't be sure of the validity of the report, but still, two officers in one car seems a bit half hearted for a gun crime in this area!

They started questioning all of us. It became clear they knew nothing of the area! They didn't know where local, well-known landmarks were. A reminder that local policing is dead! We're under a larger authority now, which covers a whole county. They were stand-offish at best, aggressive at times. I'm so glad I was with those lads or I fear they would have been given a worse time by those police officers. I was summoned home, even though the guys asked if I could stay, and that was the last I heard last night. As I walked away, another 2 police cars turned up.

Then today, I saw the police post on FB about the incident and that they'd arrested 2 men for possession of a firearm etc. Thank goodness!

It's a scary world! But those boys certainly cheered up my evening!


High: Biker boys!
Low: Decline in decent policing.




Notes


rewind - restart - forward
Random entry

Design by me.