Sorry I'm Late ... I Didn't Want To Come - 07 September, 2023
Neighbourhood Blues (and twos) - 18 August, 2023
Picnics and guns! - 21 July, 2023
Praise due - 14 June, 2023
Corona oo nana - 18 April, 2020

Diaryland

archivesleave me a noteprofileWho's who101 facts about me my diaryringsextras

18 August, 2023 - 2:54 p.m.

Well, at risk of turning my diary into a string of criminal events in my neighbourhood, I have another tale to tell.

At 7:30pm last night, I received a message from my neighbour (and good friend) telling me to look outside, down the road to the right. Knowing the random things that amuse the two of us, I didn't have a clue what to expect! Haha!

Anyway, I looked out, and at the end of our road were around 15 emergency vehicles, including fire engines, police cars, armed police units, riot vans, and paramedics. The road had been blocked off. This was all around 100yrds or so away. (The length of an official football pitch). I immediately wandered down. (Yes, I'm THAT nosy!) and chatted with someone I knew, who was standing a little further down. He informed me that someone living in the block of flats at the end of our road had doused himself with petrol and was threatening to set himself on fire. Then some more neighbours joined us and we had a nice catch up! This guy was obviously very mentally ill, but at least he ignited some community spirit, if you'll excuse the pun!!

There were families who had been evacuated from the flats outside on the pavement in dressing gowns and slippers, and children in their pyjamas clutching blankets. This mentally ill man obviously needs some pity, but what horror he caused these young families.

An hour and a half later, most of the emergency vehicles started leaving, so we all went back indoors. We have since discovered, from the local police website, that he had indeed set fire to himself and his flat, before finally being arrested.

Well, what a lot of excitement for a Thursday evening!


High: Neighbourhood camaraderie and excitement.
Low: My mood.






Notes


rewind - restart - forward
Random entry

Design by me.